Urban Construction  

Peter-Joseph-Lenné-Prize of Berlin

Peter-Joseph-Lenné-Prize Berlin - Logo

Call for competition entries 2018

Attractive tasks from Berlin, the German federal states and foreign countries have been chosen for the competition. Importance is attached to explorations of where open space planning and landscape architecture cross boundaries into other areas.

Entries are invited for the following in 2018:
  • Berlin - historic city centre: Marx-Engels-Forum
    Open space concept for the Marx-Engels Forum, including linking this area with adjoining city spaces
    Video: https://vimeo.com/258885771

  • Germany: Ebersbach-Neugersdorf (Upper Lusatia) [Oberlausitz], the source of the River Spree
    Development concept for the town of Ebersbach-Neugersdorf, and design and utilisation concept for the local mountain called the Schlechteberg
    Video: https://vimeo.com/257915559

  • Paris: architectural, open space visions for the “Fermiers Généraux”
    Strategic development concept for the open space within the “Fermiers Généraux”, and design and utilisation concepts for the section between the Boulevard de la Villette and the Colonel Fabien Square [Place du Colonel Fabien]
    Video: https://vimeo.com/259477579

From the 20th of March, the invitations for entries can be found at: www.competitionline.com/de


The complete invitation documents can be downloaded here:


The Lenné jury 2018:
  • Prof. Ulrike Böhm, Landscape architect
  • Berlin task: Ursula Renker and Verena Schönhart, Senate Department for the Environment, Transport and Climate Protection (IIIC)
  • Paris task: Laurence Daude and Christophe Teboul, City Council of Paris
  • Lusatia task: Verena Hergenröder, Mayor Ebersbach-Neugersdorf or Matthias Lachmann, Chief officer building authorities
  • Karl Foerster Foundation: Marianne Mommsen
  • Lenné prizewinners from 2016: Pascal Zissler and Jan Ole Rolfes (one vote)

Detailed information on the topics and deadlines:
  • Deadline for submissions: 29th of June 2018
  • The jury will meet on the 12th and 13th of July 2018
  • The ceremonial act with the award will take place on the 1st of November in the Academy of Arts [ Akademie der Künste]