Berliner Wissenschaftspreis of the Governing Mayor

Logo Berliner Wissenschaftspreis

The Berliner Wissenschaftspreis was established to honor outstanding achievements in research in Berlin. One of its key aims is to create a foundation for Berlin’s continued economic development. As a result, along with scientific excellence, the practical applicability of the research in question is a decisive factor in this award. The prize money of €40,000 benefits the institution at which the researcher did the work for which he or she is being honored.

Along with the Berliner Wissenschaftspreis, a Nachwuchspreis is awarded for outstanding work by a young researcher. This award is intended to recognize innovative research approaches in a field that holds particular potential for Berlin’s scientific and economic future. The Nachwuchspreis, which includes prize money of €10,000, goes to researchers who are 35 or younger.

Call for nominations

A call for nominations for the 2018 Berliner Wissenschaftspreis and the Nachwuchspreis will be issued in June 2018.

Nominations can be made by Berlin’s universities, its non-university research institutions, and their supporting organizations, as well as by the Berlin Senate members responsible for higher education and research. The form should be sent in with a short explanation of why the nominee was chosen, a CV, and a list of the nominee’s most important work. These nominations should be submitted to the office of the Berliner Wissenschaftspreis.

Forms and supporting documentation will be updated and made available for download when the call for nominations for 2018 is issued.

Selection process

The jury meets in a closed session and decides by simple majority vote which recommendations will be made to the Governing Mayor. Jury members include the Berlin Senate members responsible for higher education and research, the president of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and up to nine other distinguished scholars and researchers.

Administrative regulations on awarding the Berliner Wissenschaftspreis

(in german)

PDF-Document (29.6 kB) - As of: 31. Juli 2012

Form for the 2017 Wissenschaftspreis

(in german)

DOC-Document (275.5 kB)

Call for nominations for the 2017 Wissenschaftspreis

(in german)

PDF-Document (106.4 kB)

The Wissenschaftspreis laureates


Link to: 2017
Image: Landesarchiv Berlin

The tenth Berliner Wissenschaftspreis of the Governing Mayor was awarded to Prof. Günter M. Ziegler of the Institute of Mathematics of Freie Universität Berlin. Dr. Myfanwy Evans of the Institute of Mathematics of Technische Universität Berlin received the Nachwuchspreis. More information


Link to: 2016
Image: Landesarchiv Berlin

The Governing Mayor of Berlin awarded the Wissenschaftspreis to Prof. Dr. Ulrich Dirnagl, Professor of Neurology at Charité-Universitätsmedizin, on 7 November 2016. Prof. Dr. Matthias Weidlich received the Nachwuchspreis. More information


Link to: 2015
Image: DAVIDS Bildagentur

The Governing Mayor of Berlin, Michael Müller, awarded the 2015 Wissenschaftspreis to the biophysicist Prof. Dr. Peter Hegemann on 20 November 2015. Sandra Scheeres, Senator for Education, Youth and Science, presented the Nachwuchspreis to Dr. Tina Hanrieder. More information


Link to: 2014
Image: Landesarchiv

The IT specialist Prof. Dr. Klaus-Robert Müller was awarded the 2014 Berliner Wissenschaftspreis by the Governing Mayor. The psychologist Prof. Dr. Jule Specht received the Nachwuchspreis. More information


Link to: 2013
Image: Landesarchiv Berlin

The social scientist Prof. Dr. Heike Solga was the 2013 laureate of the Berliner Wissenschaftspreis. The environmental economist Dr. Jadwiga R. Ziolkowska, who is affiliated with Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, was awarded the Nachwuchspreis. More information


Link to: 2012
Image: TU-Pressestelle/Dahl

Prof. Dr. Horst Bredekamp, who holds a full professorship in the Department of Art and Visual History at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, was awarded the 2012 Berliner Wissenschaftspreis. More information


Link to: 2011
Image: Landesarchiv

The research of the 2011 laureate of the Berliner Wissenschaftspreis, Professor Anja Feldmann, Ph.D., focuses on modeling, optimizing, and improving the design of the Internet More information


Link to: 2010
Image: Landesarchiv

The 2010 Berliner Wissenschaftspreis honoring outstanding achievement in academia and science was awarded to Prof. Dr. h. c. Erika Fischer-Lichte, one of Europe’s most influential theater scholars. Erika Fischer-Lichte has been teaching theater studies at Freie Universität Berlin since 1996. More information


Link to: 2009
Image: Landesarchiv

Nikolaus Rajewsky (41) is Professor of Systems Biology at the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine/Charité, Berlin-Buch (MDC), as well as scientific coordinator of the Berlin Institute for Medical Systems Biology at the MDC. More information


Link to: 2008
Image: Landesarchiv

The main prize was awarded to Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Martin Grötschel, professor at Technische Universität Berlin. Prof. Dr. Gesche Joost received the Nachwuchspreis. More information