Direkt zum Inhalt der Seite springen

The opening and fall of the Wall

At the end of a press conference in the early evening of 9 November 1989, shortly before 7:00 p.m., Central Committee member Günter Schabowski made a more or less casual announcement of a new travel regulation for GDR citizens.

In response to the persistent demands of GDR citizens, the SED leadership had published a draft bill for a travel law on November 6; initially, only the section on permanent exit (with no right of return) was to go into effect. This law was intended to stop the mass departure of people fleeing the country via Czechoslovakia. Demonstrators turned out in Leipzig, Berlin, and other cities to protest against the new law, and the regulation was revised on the morning of November 9. It now also included a provision on visits: GDR citizens could be issued visas for private travel with no waiting period and without meeting special requirements.

During the press conference, Schabowski ended up announcing the new regulation prematurely. Due to mistakes in communication, he told the surprised journalists that private trips abroad could now be applied for “without proof of eligibility, reasons for travel, or family ties.” Permission would be granted on short notice; as far as he knew, he said, the regulation was to go into effect "immediately."

After West Germany’s ARD news show had broadcast Schabowski’s announcement as its lead story at 8:00 p.m., under the heading "GDR opens border," more and more East Berliners started turning up at the checkpoints on the border to West Berlin, ready to exercise their new right to travel. The border guards had been given no instructions and had no idea what to do.

At 9:20 p.m., in order to relieve some of the pressure created by the crowds, the guards at the Bornholmer Strasse checkpoint let the first few people leave for West Berlin, although the head of the passport control units had their passports stamped invalid, expatriating the passport holders without their knowledge. By 11:30 p.m., however, the crowds Film 13,31 MB had grown so large that he – still without official orders – finally raised the barrier. In the hour that followed, around 20,000 people were able to cross the Bösebrücke bridge without being checked. Later that evening, the rest of the crossing points inside the city were opened. That night, the peaceful revolution underway in the GDR and the political changes taking place in Eastern Europe had succeeded in opening the Berlin Wall.

Formalities were abandoned at the crossing points into West Berlin in the next few days, too Film 1.36 MB. The entire city was delirious with happiness. The party went on for days on Kurfürstendamm, West Berlin’s largest shopping street, and many restaurants handed out free drinks to the visitors. After more than 28 years, the Wall had finally lost its power to terrify.

In the days and weeks to come, more and more crossing points were created between the two halves of the city, including at Brandenburg Gate on 22 December 1989. The part of the Wall that ran through the middle of the city was mostly torn down between June and November 1990. Souvenir hunters from all over the world had managed to obtain a piece of this symbol of the Cold War - and how it was overcome - in the meantime. Nowadays the former course of the Wall can be traced along 20 kilometers running through the heart of the city, marked by a double row of cobblestones set into the ground. The depth of the border strip and the construction of the border fortifications can best be visualized at the Berlin Wall Memorial at Bernauer Strasse 111.

Contact

Governing Mayor of Berlin
- Senate Chancellery-
Jüdenstr. 1
10178 Berlin

Division II A
Online Communication
Telephone
+49 30 9026-2435
Fax
+49 30 9026-2285
E-mail

Smartphone app

app
Find traces of the Wall with a smartphone app

Multi media guide



Discovery Tours

Chronicle of the Wall

Multimediale Chronik(Externer Link) under "Chronicle of the Wall"


Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung
Logo Deutschlandradio
Logo Zentrum für Zeithistorische Forschung Potsdam e.V.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Direkt zum Inhalt der Seite springen
', $text); $text = preg_replace('/&(#?\w+);/', '&\1;/', $text); return $text; } ?>

Öffnung und Fall der Mauer

Am frühen Abend des 9. November 1989 kurz vor 19:00 Uhr gab ZK-Sekretär Günter Schabowski am Ende einer Pressekonferenz eher beiläufig das Inkrafttreten einer neuen Reiseregelung für DDR-Bürger bekannt.

Nach langem Drängen der Bevölkerung hatte die SED-Führung am 6. November den Entwurf für ein Reisegesetz veröffentlicht, vom dem sie aber zunächst nur einen Teil – nämlich die Regelung für die Ausreise ohne Rückkehrrecht - in Kraft setzen wollte. Damit sollte vor allem der anhaltende Ausreisestrom über die CSSR gestoppt werden. Unter dem Druck der Demonstrationen in Leipzig, Berlin und weiteren Städten, die gegen den Gesetzentwurf protestierten, war die Regelung am Vormittag des 9. Novembers noch einmal überarbeitet worden. Sie enthielt nun auch eine Besuchsregelung: Ein Visum für Privatreisen mit Rückkehrecht sollte künftig ohne besondere Voraussetzungen und Wartezeiten ausgestellt werden.

Während der Pressekonferenz äußerte sich Schabowski dann vorzeitig zu der neuen Regelung. Aufgrund von Abstimmungsfehlern erklärte er den überraschten Journalisten, dass Privatreisen ins Ausland nun "ohne Vorliegen von Voraussetzungen - Reiseanlässen und Verwandtschaftsverhältnissen - beantragt werden“ könnten. Die Genehmigungen würden kurzfristig erteilt; die Regelung gelte nach seiner Kenntnis „sofort, unverzüglich“.

Nachdem die Abendnachrichten der ARD die Schabowski-Äußerung um 20:00 Uhr als wichtigste Meldung unter der Schlagzeile „DDR öffnet die Grenze“ verbreitet hatten, versammelten sich vor den Übergangsstellen nach West-Berlin mehr und mehr Ost-Berliner, die von dem neuen Recht sofort Gebrauch machen wollten. Für die Grenzposten, die keinerlei Instruktionen hatten, war die Lage zunächst völlig unklar.

Um den Druck der Massen zu mindern, ließen die Posten am Grenzübergang Bornholmer Straße um 21:20 Uhr die ersten DDR-Bürger nach West-Berlin ausreisen. Allerdings ließ der Leiter der Passkontrolleinheiten ihre Pässe ungültig stempeln, was die Ausbürgerung der ahnungslosen Inhaber bedeutete. Gegen 23:30 Uhr war der Ansturm der Menschen [Film 13,31 MB] jedoch so groß, dass der Leiter der Passkontrolleinheiten, der noch immer ohne offizielle Dienstanweisung war, den Schlagbaum endgültig öffnete. Ca. 20.000 Menschen konnten in der folgenden Stunde ohne Kontrolle die Bösebrücke passieren. Auch die anderen innerstädtischen Grenzübergänge wurden im Verlauf des späten Abends geöffnet. Infolge der friedlichen Revolution in der DDR und der politischen Veränderungen in den Staaten Ost-Europas war in dieser Nacht die Berliner Mauer gefallen.

Auch an den folgenden Tagen wurde an den Übergängen nach West-Berlin auf alle Formalitäten verzichtet [Film 1,36 MB]. Die ganze Stadt befand sich im Freudentaumel. Auf dem Kurfürstendamm herrschte mehrere Tage lang Volksfeststimmung, viele Restaurants verteilten kostenlos Getränke an die Besucher. Nach mehr als 28 Jahren hatte die Mauer endlich ihren Schrecken verloren.

In der Folgezeit wurden immer mehr Übergänge zwischen den beiden Stadthälften geschaffen, am 22. Dezember 1989 auch am Brandenburger Tor. Der Abriss der innerstädtischen Mauer erfolgte in der Hauptsache von Juni bis November 1990. Souvenirjäger aus der ganzen Welt, die sogenannten Mauerspechte, hatten sich da bereits ein Stück vom Symbol des Kalten Krieges und seiner Überwindung gesichert. Heute können Interessierte den früheren Verlauf der Mauer über 20 Kilometer im Zentrum der Stadt nachvollziehen. Er ist im Boden durch eine doppelte Großsteinpflasterreihe gekennzeichnet. Die Breite des Grenzstreifens und der Aufbau der Grenzanlagen wird am besten in der Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer, Bernauer Straße 111, veranschaulicht.

Kontakt

Der Regierende Bürger-
meister von Berlin
- Senatskanzlei -

Jüdenstr. 1
10178 Berlin
Referat II A
Online-Kommunikation

Telefon (030) 9026-2435
Telefax (030) 9026-2285
E-Mail

Smartphone-App

iphone-App
Mauerspuren entdecken mit Smartphone-App

MauerGuide

MauerGuide
Discovery Tours

Chronik der Mauer

Multimediale Chronik(Externer Link) unter "Chronik der Mauer"


Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung
Logo Deutschlandradio
Logo Zentrum für Zeithistorische Forschung Potsdam e.V.
[an error occurred while processing this directive]