Direkt zum Inhalt der Seite springen

“Parlament der Bäume” (Parliament of Trees) memorial / Wall memorial at the Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus

The “Parlament der Bäume gegen Krieg und Gewalt” (Parliament of Trees against War and Violence) is a memorial for the people who died at the Berlin Wall started by the artist Ben Wagin on the former border strip in 1990. This installation of trees, memorial stones, original parts of the border fortifications, pictures, and text was created by various artists. The names of 258 victims of the Wall are inscribed on slabs of granite.

Not all of the sections of the inner wall that were integrated into the memorial are actually standing at their original location. The “Parlament der Bäume” had to be scaled down to make way for the construction of the Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus, which houses the library of the German Bundestag.

The new installation on the lower floor of this Bundestag building consists of original Wall segments marking the exact course of the former dividing line. Ben Wagin has painted numbers on each segment: a year and the number of people killed at the Wall in that year. Berlin’s Senator for Urban Development, Ingeborg Junge-Reyer, and the Speaker of the Bundestag, Wolfgang Thierse, officially opened this site in September 2005 as the “Wall memorial at the Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus.”

The Wall memorial can be reached from the Schiffbauerdamm promenade, 10117 Berlin-Mitte: Friday – Sunday, 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.; admission is free.

The Schiffbauerdamm promenade extends from the bridge Marschallbrücke, where the Wall once stood, to another bridge, Kronprinzenbrücke, which was destroyed in the Second World War and not rebuilt. The reconstruction of Kronprinzenbrücke according to a design by the architect Santiago Calatrava was one of the first links reuniting East and West Berlin territory after the fall of the Wall and reunification in 1989 and 1990.

Attempts to portray the former course of the border in this area are often confusing: the political border – and thus the border that was crucial for fugitives – between East and West Berlin was the southern bank of the Spree on the side of the Reichstag building. The GDR government, however, had the Wall constructed along the northern bank of the Spree.

Direkt zum Inhalt der Seite springen

Gedenkort Parlament der Bäume / Mauer-Mahnmal im Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus

Das „Parlament der Bäume“ ist ein Gedenkort für die Toten an der Berliner Mauer. Der Künstler Ben Wagin hat ihn 1990 auf dem ehemaligen Grenzstreifen angelegt. Die Installation aus Bäumen, Gedenksteinen, Sachzeugnissen der Grenzanlagen, Bildern und Texten ist von verschiedenen Künstlern gestaltet worden. Auf Granitplatten sind die Namen von 258 Mauertoten genannt.

Die als Mahnmal gestalteten Segmente der hinteren Sperrmauer sind nur zum Teil in situ, d.h. am Originalstandort. Für den Bau des Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Hauses, das die Bibliothek des Deutschen Bundestages beherbergt, musste das „Parlament der Bäume“ verkleinert werden.

Die Neu-Installation im Bundestags-Gebäude besteht aus originalen Mauersegmenten, die von Ben Wagin mit Jahreszahlen und den Zahlen der im jeweiligen Jahr ermittelten Maueropfer versehen sind. Im Untergeschoss der Bibliothek zeigen sie den ehemaligen Verlauf der Sperrmauer an. Die Berliner Senatorin für Stadtentwicklung Ingeborg Junge-Reyer und Bundestagspräsident Wolfgang Thierse haben den Erinnerungsort als „Mauermahnmal im Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus“ im September 2005 der Öffentlichkeit übergeben.

Das Mauermahnmal ist von der Promenade Schiffbauerdamm, in 10117 Berlin-Mitte zugänglich: Freitag bis Sonntag 11–17 Uhr. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Die Promenade Schiffbauerdamm verläuft von der Marschallbrücke, auf der die Grenzmauer stand, bis zur Kronprinzenbrücke, die im Zweiten Weltkrieg zerstört und nicht rekonstruiert worden war. Der Wiederaufbau der Kronprinzenbrücke nach einem Entwurf des Architekten Santiago Calatrava ist einer der ersten Brückenschläge zwischen Ost- und West-Berliner Gebiet nach der Wende 1989/90.

Die Darstellung des ehemaligen Grenzverlaufs ist für diesen Bereich oft verwirrend: Die politische und damit für Flüchtlinge lebensentscheidende Grenzlinie zwischen Ost- und West-Berlin verlief am südlichen Spreeufer auf der Seite des Reichstagsgebäudes. Die oberirdische Sperrmauer aber hatte die DDR-Führung auf dem (nördlichen) Uferstreifen errichten lassen.