Subway (U-Bahn)

Subway (U-Bahn)

Tickets, fares, lines, routes, timetables and more information about the U-Bahn (subway, underground) in Berlin.

U-Bahnhof Museumsinsel (1)

© dpa

With its ten lines, the subway in Berlin runs along a network of approximately 146 kilometers and 173 stations. Most subway lines operate underground, but some run on above-ground tracks. The U-Bahn is known for its yellow-colored trains.

Please note: Masks required on public transport

Passengers have to wear an FFP2 mask on buses, S-Bahn and U-Bahn trains in Berlin. Failure to comply with the mask requirement will result in a fine.

Timetables & Tickets

Tickets for the Subway in Berlin

The Berlin subway is operated by the transport company Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe (BVG) and is part of the Transport Association Berlin-Brandenburg (VBB). Therefore, subway tickets are also valid for buses, the S-Bahn, trams, and vice versa. Tickets can be purchased at ticket machines on subway platforms and ticket counters in larger stations.


On weekdays, most subway lines run from 4 AM till 1 AM. In between these service hours, night buses can be used for public transport. Subway trains run in 5-minute intervals during the day and 10-minute intervals at night. Over the weekend, the subway runs 24 hours, usually in 10-minute intervals during the day and 15-minute intervals at night.

East-West-Lines of the Berlin Subway

Line U1

The famous U1 line connects the district of Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg with the western part of Berlin and Kurfürstendamm. It runs from Warschauer Straße station in Kreuzberg to Uhlandstraße station in Charlottenburg. The eastern part of the route, which is built above ground, is the oldest section of Berlin's U-Bahn network. Crossing the Oberbaum Bridge is a special experience.

Line U2

The subway line U2 travels between the stations Ruhleben in Berlin's western part and Pankow in the northeast. On its journey, the U2 passes right through the city center. Important stations are: Olympiastadion, Zoologischer Garten (Zoo), Potsdamer Platz, Stadtmitte, Alexanderplatz, and Schönhauser Allee.

Line U7

With a length of about 32 kilometers and 40 stations, the U7 has the longest route of Berlin's subway network. It runs through the southern part of Berlin and connects the western district of Spandau with Rudow, a part of the southeastern district Neukölln. On its route, the U7 passes the districts of Charlottenburg, Schöneberg, Kreuzberg, and Neukölln.

North-South Lines of the Berlin Subway

Line U6

The U6 travels between Alt-Tegel station in the north of Berlin and Alt-Mariendorf station in the southern district of Tempelhof-Schöneberg. Important stops on the journey are: Wedding, Friedrichstraße, Stadtmitte, Mehringdamm, and Tempelhof.

Line U8

Another north-south line, the U8 runs from Wittenau in the northwestern district of Reinickendorf via Gesundbrunnen, Alexanderplatz and Kottbusser Tor to Hermannstraße in the southern district of Neukölln.

Line U9

The U9 connects Osloer Straße station in the central-northern district of Wedding with Steglitz in the south of the city. On its route, the U9 passes Tiergarten and the western city center of Berlin, including Kurfürstendamm and Zoologischer Garten.

Contacting the BVG

Telephone: +49 (0)30 19 44 9

Related Content


| Last edited: 30. March 2022

Public Transport in Berlin