Current language: English


Eine S-Bahn fährt aus dem Bahnhof Alexanderplatz heraus

Lines, timetables and tickets for S-Bahn Berlin.

The S-Bahn is a light rail network that covers 15 lines and almost 170 stations. The 330 kilometer regional network covers the city center and suburban area of Berlin as well as a few stops in Brandenburg. In the center of Berlin, the S-Bahn mostly runs above ground. S-Bahn stations can be easily identified by the green and white S symbol.

Tickets & Timetables

Important S-Bahn Lines

East-West Direction

A central axis of Berlin's transport system is the east-west line of the S-Bahn, which connects the stations Westkreuz and Ostkreuz. During peak hours, trains of the lines S5, S7 and S75 run in three-minute intervals. The section between the stations Zoologischer Garten and Alexanderplatz passes by many of Berlin's famous landmarks, such as the Berlin Cathedral, Berlin Central Station, Museum Island, and Hackescher Markt.

North-South Direction

Important north-south-lines of the S-Bahn are the S1 which runs between Oranienburg and Wannsee, the S2 which runs between Bernau and Blankenfelde, and the S25 which runs between Teltow and Hennigsdorf.

S-Bahn Ring (Ringbahn)

The so-called Ringbahn runs on a circular route of about 37 kilometers around Berlin's city centre. It consists of the S-Bahn lines S41 and S42 - the S41 moves clockwise, the S42 anticlockwise. The Ringbahn stops at 27 stations and needs approximately 60 minutes to circle around the city. Many stations of the Ringbahn offer connections to other S-Bahn and subway lines that take you to the city center or the outskirts of Berlin. Important stations of the Ringbahn are Westkreuz, Gesundbrunnen Ostkreuz, and Südkreuz. During peak hours, the trains run in five-minute intervals, in the evening in ten-minute intervals.

Related Content


Last edited: 30 May 2023

Public Transport in Berlin