Information about the new property tax

  • Apartments in Berlin

    Property tax reform

    This is where owners of property and land in Berlin can find information about the new property tax.

    More information Image: Depositphotos / elxeneize
  • Berlin

    Do you own property and land in Berlin?

    More information
  • Other federal state

    Do you own property and land in another federal state?

    More information
  • Step by step

    Since 1 July 2022, you can submit the declaration electronically. We can take you through the process step by step.

    More information

The Property Tax Reform Act stipulates that all property across Germany must be revalued as of 1 January 2022. In the course of this so-called primary appraisal, the property tax value on this date will be determined for the first time. From 2025, this will replace the standard value for property tax purposes. For property in the federal state of Berlin, the property tax value will be determined as previously, based on federal law.

Reappraisal

As part of the reappraisal, all owners of property in Berlin must submit an electronic tax declaration to determine the property tax value – no matter whether they are using the property themselves or whether this is for rent. The property tax declaration must be submitted from 1 July and at the latest by 31 October 2022.

Determination of property tax

The former three-step process for determining property tax will still apply:
  1. Determine the property tax value
  2. Establish the property tax coefficient (property tax value x tax index)
  3. Calculate the property tax (property tax coefficient x tax factor)

For the time being, only the property tax value will be determined in Berlin. The new tax factor and any deviating tax coefficients will only be established once the value of the majority of properties in Berlin has been determined. As a result, notifications of the property tax coefficient and the property tax payable will only be issued in 2024. The new property tax will then be payable from 2025.

Informationen zur neuen Grundsteuer

  • Wohnungen in Berlin

    Grundsteuerreform

    Hier finden Eigentümerinnen und Eigentümer von Immobilien und Grundstücken in Berlin Informationen zur neuen Grundsteuer.

    Weitere Informationen Bild: Depositphotos / elxeneize
  • Berlin

    Sie haben Immobilien- und Grundbesitz in Berlin?

    Weitere Informationen
  • Anderes Bundesland

    Sie haben Immobilien- und Grundbesitz in einem anderen Bundesland?

    Weitere Informationen
  • Hintergrund

    Warum wird das Grundsteuergesetz reformiert? Wie wirken sich die neuen Regeln aus?

    Weitere Informationen

Das Grundsteuer-Reformgesetz sieht vor, dass zum 1. Januar 2022 bundesweit alle Grundstücke neu zu bewerten sind. Bei dieser sogenannten Hauptfeststellung wird erstmals auf diesen Stichtag der Grundsteuerwert festgestellt. Dieser löst dann ab 2025 den Einheitswert bei der Grundsteuer ab. Für Grundbesitz im Land Berlin erfolgt die Ermittlung des Grundsteuerwerts wie bisher nach dem Bundesgesetz.

Neubewertung

Im Rahmen der Neubewertung müssen alle Eigentümerinnen und Eigentümer für ihren Grundbesitz in Berlin eine elektronische Steuererklärung zur Feststellung des Grundsteuerwerts abgeben – egal ob selbstgenutzt oder vermietet. Die Grundsteuererklärung kann ab dem 01. Juli bis spätestens zum 31. Oktober 2022 eingereicht werden.

Ermittlung der Grundsteuer

Das bisherige dreistufige Verfahren zur Ermittlung der Grundsteuer wird beibehalten:
1. Ermittlung des Grundsteuerwerts
2. Feststellung des Grundsteuermessbetrags (Grundsteuerwert x Steuermesszahl)
3. Festsetzung der Grundsteuer (Grundsteuermessbetrag x Hebesatz )

In Berlin wird zunächst nur der Grundsteuerwert ermittelt. Erst wenn dieser Wert für die Mehrheit der Berliner Grundstücke vorliegt, werden der neue Hebesatz und ggf. abweichende Messzahlen festgelegt werden. Bescheide über den Grundsteuermessbetrag und über die zu zahlende Grundsteuer werden daher erst im Jahr 2024 erteilt werden. Die neu ermittelte Grundsteuer ist dann ab 2025 zu zahlen.