Current language: English

Six new judges appointed to the State Constitutional Court


Six new judges are appointed to the State Constitutional Court.

The House of Representatives elected them on the joint proposal of the CDU, SPD, Greens and Left Party at the last plenary session before the summer break. Following months of discussions, the parliamentary group leaders of the four parties had previously agreed on the candidates for the honorary office.

Lucy Chebout, Juliane Pätzold, Florian Rödl, Florian Schärdel, Rosanna Sieveking and Björn Retzlaff are sworn in

Lawyer Lucy Chebout, judge Juliane Pätzold from the Berlin Administrative Court, labor and social law expert Florian Rödl from the Free University of Berlin, civil judge Florian Schärdel from the Schöneberg District Court and Rosanna Sieveking, judge at the Federal Administrative Court, were elected. Vice President of the State Constitutional Court will be 53-year-old lawyer Björn Retzlaff, who is presiding judge at the Berlin Court of Appeal. All six accepted the election. They were then appointed and sworn in by the state parliament. The appointment of the judges had long been expected. Some of the previous nine judges were only in office on a temporary basis because their seven-year term of office had already expired. Two posts were vacant.

Author: dpa/
Publication date: 5 July 2024
Last updated: 5 July 2024

More News


Warning of thunderstorms on Friday

In Berlin and Brandenburg, severe thunderstorms with heavy rain and hail may occur during the course of Friday. The German Weather Service has issued a severe weather forecast.  more