Nature + Green  

 

The History of Berlin's Urban Green Space

The State-Directed Development of Urban Green Space in Berlin until 1870


Around 1840


Until the foundation of the German Empire in 1870-'71, the urban planning matters of Berlin were essentially determined by the Prussian state, either through royal decrees or through fiscal and police measures.
 
Around 1840, the only recreation space available to the approx. 322,000 Berliners, aside from the promenade Unter den Linden (in German), was the Großer Tiergarten (in German) The few city squares were largely reserved for purposes of representation. The royal gardens director Peter Joseph Lenné (1789-1866), had the Großer Tiergarten rebuilt into a landscape park in 1818 and from 1832 to 1840. In 1843, the Invalidenpark was created, and in 1849, Lenné remodeled the Kleiner Tiergarten.
 
In order to certify additional recreational areas for the greatly increasing population of Berlin, Lenné was assigned by the Prussian Ministry of the Interior to draft a plan covering the entire area of the city. On April 24, 1840 Lenné submitted his plan for “the Projected Decorative and Border Strips of Berlin, with the Adjoining Area.” This map already showed the Friedrichshain (in German).


1848 to 1870


Lenné's closest associate, who worked as the royal court gardener at Sanssouci Palace in Potsdam, Gustav Meyer (1816-1877), was commissioned to draft a plan for the Friedrichshain (in German) The Park was built between 1846 and 1848 as the first municipal green space of 34 ha, under the superintendence of the Berlin Forest and Economics Deputation. Immediately after its completion, the dead of the March Revolution of 1848 were interred here.
 
In 1864, the Berlin City Council commissioned Gustav Meyer to design an additional urban park outside the Schesisches Tor (Silesian Gate), which was to become the Treptower Park (in German). On December 15, 1864, the design was submitted and was favorably received. However, the Treptower Park was not built until 1876-1888.
 
In 1865, the City Council authorized the purchase of the property which would later be used for the Humboldthain, built 1869-1870.
 
As an effect of rapid industrialization, the population of Berlin had risen to 428,000 inhabitants in 1850, to 500,000 inhabitants in 1860, and to 800,000 inhabitants in 1870 - on the same area. This led to extremely crowded and socially untenable residential conditions.
 
Literature (in German):
Berlin - Hundert Jahre Gartenbauverwaltung
Berlin durch die Blume oder Kraut und Rüben
Vom Humboldthain zum Britzer Garten

Peter Joseph Lenné


'Beautification plan for the Royal Thiergarten at Berlin' - 1832
"Beautification plan
for the Royal Thiergarten at Berlin"


'Projected decorative and border strips of Berlin, with the adjoining area'
"Projected decorative
and border strips of Berlin, with the adjoining area"

 
Map of the Humboldthain
Historical map of the "Humboldthain"

Natur + Grün  

 

Geschichte des Berliner Stadtgrüns

Staatliche Grünentwicklung in Berlin bis 1870

Um 1840


Bis zur Reichsgründung 1870/71 wurden die städtebaulichen Belange Berlins wesentlich vom preußischen Staat bestimmt, durch königliche Erlasse oder durch fiskalische und polizeiliche Maßnahmen.
 
Um 1840 stand den etwa 322.000 Berlinern neben der Promenade "Unter den Linden" nur der Große Tiergarten als Erholungsanlage zur Verfügung. Die wenigen Stadtplätze dienten überwiegend der Repräsentation. Der königliche Gartendirektor Peter Joseph Lenné (1789-1866) hatte den Großen Tiergarten 1818 und von 1832-1840 in einen Landschaftspark umgebaut. 1843 war der Invalidenpark geschaffen worden. 1849 erhielt der Kleine Tiergarten von Lenné eine neue Gestalt.
 
Um weitere Erholungsgebiete für die stark anwachsende Bevölkerung Berlins auszuweisen, wurde P. J. Lenné vom preußischen Ministerium für Inneres mit einem das ganze Stadtgebiet umfassenden Plan beauftragt. Am 24. April 1840 legte P. J. Lenné den Plan für "die projektierten Schmuck- und Grenzzüge von Berlin mit nächster Umgebung" vor. In diesem Plan wurde bereits der Friedrichshain dargestellt.


Von 1848 bis 1870


Lenné's engster Mitarbeiter, der in Sanssouci tätige königliche Hofgärtner Gustav Meyer (1816-1877) erhielt den Auftrag, den Friedrichshain zu entwerfen und unter Oberaufsicht der Berliner Forst- und Ökonomie-Deputation wurde er von 1846-48 als erste kommunale Grünanlage (34 ha) gebaut. Noch im Fertigstellungsjahr wurden die Toten der Märzrevolution hier bestattet.
 
1864 beauftragte die Berliner Stadtverordnetenversammlung Gustav Meyer mit dem Entwurf für einen weiteren städtischen Park vor dem Schlesischen Tor, dem späteren Treptower Park. Am 15. Dezember 1864 lag der Entwurf vor und wurde zustimmend zur Kenntnis genommen. Gebaut wurde der Treptower Park jedoch erst 1876 bis 1888.
 
1865 wurde von der Stadtverordnetenversammlung der Grundstückskauf für den späteren Humboldthain bewilligt, der zwischen 1869 und 1870 gebaut wurde.
 
Als Auswirkung der sich rasch entwickelnden Industrialisierung war die Bevölkerung Berlins 1850 auf 428.000 Einwohner, 1860 auf 500.000 Einwohner und 1870 auf 800.000 Einwohner angewachsen bei gleichbleibender Stadtgebietsfläche. Dies führte zu sehr beengten und sozial unhaltbaren Wohnverhältnissen.
 
Literatur:
Berlin - Hundert Jahre Gartenbauverwaltung
Berlin durch die Blume oder Kraut und Rüben
Vom Humboldthain zum Britzer Garten

Peter Joseph Lenné


'Verschoenerungs Plan vom Koenigl. Thiergarten bei Berlin' - 1832
Plan vom "Thiergarten"


'Projectirte Schmuck- und Grenzzüge von Berlin mit nächster Umgegend'
Plan "Schmuck und Grenzzüge"


Humboldthain - Plan
Historischer Plan vom Humboldt-Hain