Senate bans diesel cars from eight streets

Senate bans diesel cars from eight streets

The Senate of Berlin approved a new air pollution control plan that contains driving bans for diesel cars on eight streets.

Diesel exhaust fumes

© dpa

According to news agency dpa, the red-red-green Senate in Berlin decided to ban diesel vehicles in parts of the capital on Tuesday, 23 July 2019. According to the decision, sections of eight roads that are to be off-limits for diesel cars and trucks up to and including the Euro 5 emissions standard.

Roads affected by the diesel ban

  • Alt-Moabit
  • Brückenstraße
  • Friedrichstraße
  • Hermannstraße
  • Leipziger Straße
  • Reinhardstraße
  • Silbersteinstraße
  • Stromstraße

Residents exempt from driving bans

According to the information available, the transit ban on the affected sections applies to a total of 2.9 kilometres. There will be exceptions for residents, delivery and care services and craftsmen, among others. The aim of the driving bans is to improve air quality in the capital.

Parking to become more expensive

The 30 km/h zones in the capital are also to be extended to 33 roads with 59 heavily trafficked sections. In addition, buses and municipal vehicles are to be retrofitted and fleets renewed. There will also be more areas where parking is subject to a charge. Prices for parking will rise by 20 percent.
TV Tower at Alexanderplatz
© dpa

News from Berlin

The latest news, top headlines, up-to-date information and developments from Berlin. more

Source: dpa, translation, BerlinOnline

| Last edited: Wednesday, 24. July 2019 10:52 Uhr

More news from Berlin