Nature + Green  

 

The History of Berlin's Urban Green Space

Development of Urban Green Space in West Berlin, 1948 to 1990

1948 to 1966


In West Berlin, a new Main Department of Green Space and Horticulture/ Landscape Gardening was established in 1948, headed by Fritz Witte (1900-1972) until 1965. A major focus of his work was an emergency green program, including the restoration of the Großer Tiergarten (in German) and the Humboldthain (in German). Along the inner-city Spree and the canals within the city, former loading streets and their harbors were changed into green spaces. By 1970, 150 km of the total of 290 km of waterways had been greened.
 
On August 22, 1949, the Urban Planning Law of the State of Berlin was adopted. As part of the land-use plan, this law also provided for an overall green-space plan, which was established in 1959 and confirmed in 1960 by the House of Representatives. The development of the city center was to be structured not with separate green spaces, but rather with an interconnected network of major green strips, which were, wherever possible, to incorporate existing green and sports facilities, take into account existing scenic contexts, and restore those that had been lost. They were planned to be three to four kilometers apart from one another, and were to connect the city center with the surrounding areas. Secondary green strips were to connect the major green strips with pedestrian pathways. Until 1970, the overall green-space plan constituted the basis for open-space development.


Von 1966 bis 1980


In 1966, Norbert Schindler (born 1918) succeeded to the office of head of the Division of Green Space and Horticulture/Landscape Gardening, subordinate to the Senate Department of Construction and Housing..
 
Starting in 1970, the land-use plan of July 30, 1965 became the basis for open-space development. The draft of the overall green-space plan was taken over, although the coherent network of inner-city green strips were abandoned. The density of residential areas in the city center was abandoned in favor of new certification of major residential estates in the outskirts (Falkenhagener Feld, Märkisches Viertel, Gropiusstadt). In the city center, redevelopment areas were defined covering 56,000 apartments. A large-scale transportation system was to connect the major residential areas with the industrial and commercial areas. This led to a major upsurge of construction of housing, commercial centers, and transportation and other infrastructure, at the expense of open space, especially of farmland and allotment gardens.
 
This destruction of open space soon sparked a barrage of criticism, given the insular situation of West Berlin. Via cooperation in the drafting of expert reports together with the Berlin University of Technology, Norbert Schindler tried to strengthen the position of spatial planning.
 
Numerous relevant laws were enacted during the '70s, including the Monument Protection Law (in German) of April 24 1995, the Children's Playground Law (in German) of January 15, 1979, the State Forest Law of January 30, 1979, and the Berlin Nature-Conservation Law (in German) of February 11, 1979. The conservation of historic gardens, the landscape planning, the Environmental Atlas, the intervention regulation, the expanded habitat and species protection, the playground development plan and the courtyard-greening program of West Berlin received nationwide acknowledgment.
Overall Green-Space Plan of the West Berlin Boroughs
Overall Green-Space
Plan of the West Berlin Boroughs


Courtyard-greening
Green in courtyards

Natur + Grün  

 

Geschichte des Berliner Stadtgrüns

Westberliner Grünentwicklung 1948 bis 1990

Von 1948 bis 1966


In Berlin (West) wurde 1948 ein neues Hauptamt für Grünflächen und Gartenbau gebildet, dessen Leiter Fritz Witte (1900-1972) bis 1965 war. Ein Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit war ein grünes Notstandsprogramm, das u.a. die Instandsetzung des Großen Tiergartens und des Humboldthains beinhaltete. An der innerstädtischen Spree und an den Kanälen im Stadtgebiet wurden frühere Ladestraßen und ihre Häfen zu Grünanlagen umgewandelt. Bis 1970 wurden von 290 km Wasserstraßen 150 km begrünt.
 
Am 22. August 1949 wurde das Gesetz über städtebauliche Planung im Land Berlin verabschiedet. Als Teilplan zum Flächennutzungsplan sah dieses Gesetz auch einen Hauptgrünflächenplan vor, der 1959 aufgestellt und 1960 vom Abgeordnetenhaus bestätigt wurde. Nicht durch einzelne Grünanlagen, sondern durch ein zusammenhängendes Netz von Hauptgrünzügen sollte die Bebauung der Innenstadt gegliedert werden. Die Hauptgrünzüge bezogen nach Möglichkeit vorhandene Grün- und Sportanlagen mit ein, berücksichtigten landschaftliche Gegebenheiten und stellten verlorengegangene landschaftliche Zusammenhänge wieder her. Die Hauptgrünzüge wurden in drei bis vier Kilometer Entfernung zueinander geplant und sollten die Innenstadt mit dem Umland verbinden. Grünzüge zweiten Grades verbanden die Hauptgrünzüge für Fußgänger. Bis 1970 bildete der Hauptgrünflächenplan die Grundlage der Freiraumentwicklung.


Von 1966 bis 1980


Nachfolger im Amt des Abteilungsleiters für Grünflächen und Gartenbau beim Senator für Bau- und Wohnungswesen wurde 1966 Norbert Schindler (geb. 1918).
 
Ab 1970 wurde der Flächennutzungsplan vom 30. Juli 1965 die Grundlage für die Freiraumentwicklung. Die Darstellungen des Hauptgrünflächenplanes wurden übernommen, wobei die zusammenhängenden innerstädtischen Grünzüge aufgegeben wurden. Die Verdichtung der Wohngebiete in der Innenstadt wurde zugunsten der Neuausweisung von Großsiedlungen am Stadtrand (Falkenhagener Feld, Märkisches Viertel, Gropiusstadt) aufgegeben. In der Innenstadt wurden Sanierungsgebiete im Umfang von 56.000 Wohnungen festgelegt. Ein großdimensioniertes Verkehrssystem sollte die Großsiedlungen mit den Industrie- und Gewerbebereichen verbinden. Die damit ausgelöste starke bauliche Entwicklung im Wohnungsbau, Gewerbeansiedlung, Verkehrsbau und sonstiger Infrastrukturmaßnahmen vollzog sich zu Lasten des Freiraums, insbesondere der landwirtschaftlich und kleingärtnerisch genutzten Flächen.
 
An der Vernichtung von Freiraum in der Inselsituation von Berlin (West) entzündete sich bald öffentliche Kritik. Norbert Schindler versuchte über gutachterliche Zusammenarbeit mit der Technischen Universität Berlin die Position der Freiraumplanung zu stärken.
 
Zahlreiche Gesetze wurden in den 70er Jahren erlassen: das Denkmalschutzgesetz vom 24. April 1995, das Kinderspielplatzgesetz vom 15.01.1979, das Landeswaldgesetz vom 30.01.1979 und das Berliner Naturschutzgesetz vom 11.02.1979. Bundesweite Anerkennung erhielten die Gartendenkmalpflege, die Landschaftsplanung, der Umweltatlas, die Eingriffsregelung, der erweiterte Biotop- und Artenschutz, der Spielplatzentwicklungsplan und das Hofbegrünungsprogramm.
Hauptgrünflächenplan
Hauptgrünflächenplan


Hofbegrünung
Hofbegrünung