Service  

 
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin

Großer Tiergarten - Points of interest - Areas worth seeing in the park

Venusbassin


Venusbassin, 2014; photo: Thomas LeBas / minigram
Venusbassin, 2014   photo: Thomas LeBas / minigram

The name "Venusbassin" (Venus pool) dates back to the baroque era, to the rectangular pool, originally created by the garden designer Knobelsdorff which was decorated at its southern end with a statue of Venus with Cupid.

"The goldfish pond in the Tiergarten", Painting by Philipp Hackert, 1760
"The goldfish pond in the Tiergarten",
Painting by Philipp Hackert, 1760
Image source: Stiftung Stadtmuseum Berlin
Only at the beginning of the 20th century did the statue of "Venus of Capua", which had been replaced by a zinc cast by Lenné who had also transformed the pool (later called the "Goldfish pond") into its now restored shape, have to give way to the "Musikerdenkmal" (Musician's Memorial) at the wish of Emperor William II.

In 2009, following the renaturation of the "Entlastungsstraße" bypass road which for over 40 years had led directly through the park, the "Venusbassin" was restored. As a reminiscence to the garden artist and landscape designer Peter Joseph Lenné, red flowering chestnut trees now frame the pool. With the "Venusbassin" and the "Musikerdenkmal" monument, which was fully restored a few years earlier, this part of the park located near to the main street "Straße des 17. Juni" has regained its authentic, rich appearance grown over centuries.

Service  

 
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin

Großer Tiergarten - Sehenswertes - Besondere Parkbereiche

Venusbassin


Venusbassin, 2014; Foto: Thomas LeBas / minigram
Venusbassin, 2014   Foto: Thomas LeBas / minigram

Der Name „Venusbassin” geht auf das barocke, ursprünglich von Knobelsdorff gestaltete rechteckige Becken zurück, das damals an seiner südlichen Stirnseite durch eine Venus-Statue mit Cupido geschmückt war.

Historische Abbildung „Venusbassin mit Venusstatue” Gemälde von Ph. Hackert, 1760
Historische Abbildung „Der Goldfischteich im Tiergarten”
Gemälde von Philipp Hackert, 1760
Bildquelle: Stiftung Stadtmuseum Berlin
Erst zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts, nachdem Peter Joseph Lenné bereits das Becken, das später „Goldfischteich” genannt wurde, in seiner heute wiederhergestellten Form umgestaltet hatte, musste die von Lenné durch einen Zinkguss erneuerte Venus von Capua auf Wunsch des Kaisers dem Musiker-Denkmal weichen.

Nach dem Rückbau der Entlastungsstraße durch den Tiergarten konnte das Venusbassin nach über 40 Jahren im Jahr 2009 wiederhergestellt werden. Als Reminiszenz an den Gartenkünstler und Landschaftsgestalter Peter Joseph Lenné rahmen rotblühende Kastanien das Bassin. Zusammen mit dem wenige Jahre zuvor umfassend restaurierten Komponistendenkmal erhielt damit dieser in unmittelbarer Nähe der Straße des 17. Juni gelegene Tiergartenteil sein authentisches, in Jahrhunderten gewachsenes reiches Bild zurück.