Service  

 
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin

Großer Tiergarten - Points of interest - Areas worth seeing in the park

Rosengarten


Pergola in the Rose Garden, 2014; photo: Thomas LeBas / minigram
Pergola in the Rose Garden, 2014   photo: Thomas LeBas / minigram

Roses, perennials, summer flowers

The rose garden was created in 1909 by the director of the "Großer Tiergarten" park, Felix Freudeman, in cooperation with rose breeder Peter Lambert. The garden was laid out in place of a symmetrical garden with trees planted in a regular pattern designed by Joseph Lenné. Because of the new "Bremer Weg" path built in 1951 more than a third of the old rose garden including two lily ponds went lost. As a substitute the garden planner Alverdes put here a summer flower garden.

Resumption of design traditions

What remained of the rose garden after the Second World War was redesigned in 1974 based on the historical complex. The planting was fundamentally renewed in 2004. Framed by a stone pergola and a strictly linear hedge row, in the middle of a dense forest area of the park, visitors are suddenly delighted by an overwhelming wealth and diversity of roses planted in rigorously formal landscaped beds and mingled with matching perennials.

The rose garden impressively underlines what Knobelsdorff and also Lenné aimed to achieve for the viewer by carefully designing places and special gardens decorated with rich plant beds and statues: as Lenné said, the large park needs these jewels in order not to lose the most exquisite enjoyment of variety and surprise.

In 2014 the restoration of the southern colonnade was completed.

Service  

 
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin
  • Groer Tiergarten Berlin

Großer Tiergarten - Sehenswertes - Besondere Parkbereiche

Rosengarten


Pergola im Rosengarten, 2014; Foto: Thomas LeBas / minigram
Pergola im Rosengarten, 2014   Foto: Thomas LeBas / minigram

Rosen, Stauden, Sommerblumen

Der Rosengarten entstand 1909 durch den Tiergartendirektor Felix Freudemann und den Rosenzüchter Peter Lambert aus Trier anstelle einer von Lenné gestalteten symmetrischen Gartenpartie mit regelmäßigen Baumpflanzungen. Durch den 1951 angelegten Bremer Weg ging dort mehr als ein Drittel des alten Rosengartens mit zwei Seerosenbecken verloren. Alverdes legte hier einen „Sommerblumengarten” an.

Wiederanknüpfung an Gestaltungstraditionen

Der nach dem Krieg verbliebene Teil des Rosengartens wurde 1974 in Anlehnung an die historische Anlage umgestaltet und die Bepflanzung 2004 grunderneuert. Von einer steinernen Pergola und einer streng linear geführte Hecken gerahmt, empfängt die Besucherin und den Besucher mitten im hier geschlossenen waldartigen Bestand des Tiergartens eine überwältigende Fülle unterschiedlicher Rosen in streng formal angelegten Beeten angepflanzt, untermischt mit passenden Stauden.

Der Rosengarten unterstreicht damit eindrucksvoll, was schon Knobelsdorff, aber auch Lenné mit ihren sorgfältig durchgestalteten, mit reichen Schmuckbeetanlagen sowie mit Statuen versehenen Plätzen und Sondergärten beim Betrachter erzielen wollten, nämlich: „Ein so geräumiger Park wie der Tiergarten es ist, würde ohne solche Schmuckplätze seinen vorzüglichsten Genuß, nämlich den der Mannigfaltigkeit und der Überraschung entbehren” (Lenné).

2014 konnte die Restaurierung der südlichen Kolonnaden fertig gestellt werden.