Direkt zum Inhalt der Seite springen

Berlin after 1945

1945

The Berlin garrison capitulates on May 2, six days before the end of the Second World War in Europe. Large parts of the city are in ruins [Film].
After the war ends on 8 May 1945, much of Berlin is nothing but rubble: 600,000 apartments have been destroyed, and only 2.8 million of the city’s original population of 4.3 million still live in the city. In accordance with an agreement signed by the Allies, the city is divided into four sectors and administered jointly by the occupying powers, the United States of America, Great Britain, France, and the Soviet Union.


1946-49

Growing conflicts of interest between the victorious powers with regard to the postwar order in Europe in general and Germany in particular put an end to the Allies’ joint administration of the city. Berlin becomes a Cold War hotspot.

1946

The unification in April in the Soviet occupied zone and East Berlin of the KPD and the SPD to form the Socialist Unity Party (Sozialistische Einheitspartei Deutschlands – SED), pushed through by the Soviet military administration and the KPD, leads to severe conflicts between the Allies and between local party organizations.

On October 20, with voter turnout of 92.3 percent, Berlin elects its first city assembly since the end of the war. The SPD receives 48.7 percent of the vote, the CDU 22.2 percent, the SED 19.8 percent, and the LDP 9.3 percent.

1948

Conflicts over currency reform, among other things, trigger a Soviet Union blockade [Film] of the western sectors from June 1948 to May 1949. The western Allies respond with the Berlin Airlift, an unprecedented operation supplying the entire city by air. The western victorious powers become protecting powers and friends.
The blockade also puts an end to the joint administration of Berlin. Increasing harassment by SED supporters forces the city assembly to convene its sessions in the western half of the city, starting on September 6. A Magistrat, or city council, headed by Lord Mayor Friedrich Ebert and dominated by the SED is then formed in East Berlin on November 30. The city government has now been split in two.

On September 9, Ernst Reuter gives a speech to more than 300,000 Berliners gathered in front of the ruins of the Reichtag building, appealing to the “people of the world” not to abandon “this city and its people.”

On December 4, the Free University of Berlin (Freie Universität Berlin) is founded in West Berlin in opposition to the old Friedrich Wilhelm University (known as Humboldt University starting in 1949) in the city’s eastern half.

1949

The elected city assembly and lord mayor move into temporary quarters at the town hall of the western borough of Schöneberg. This temporary arrangement was to last for more than 40 years.

The difficulties caused by the blockade give rise to the first comprehensive package of financial aid measures for the isolated city, funded by an emergency levy. One visible expression of these measures is the two-pfennig “Notopfer Berlin” stamp introduced in the western occupied zones on April 1 and used until 1956 to raise money for Berlin.

The Soviet Union ends the blockade of Berlin’s western sectors on May 12, and the western Allies respond by dropping their economic sanctions against the Soviet occupied zone. Access to West Berlin through the Soviet occupied zone remains difficult, however. Until reunification in 1990, travel is permitted only on transit routes designated by the eastern side and via the air corridors agreed on by the Allies during the war.

On 23 May 1949, the Federal Republic of Germany is founded in Germany’s western sectors. Berlin retains its special status as a territory under Allied supervision (and keeps that status until reunification on 3 October 1990). On 10 May 1949, the Parliamentary Council names Bonn the provisional capital of the new state.

When the German Democratic Republic (GDR) is founded in the Soviet sector on 7 October 1949, East Berlin becomes its capital. In the years that follow, the two halves of the city become intricately linked with the social systems of their respective state governments.

1950

The demolishing of the old City Palace in East Berlin starts in September with the goal of erasing a symbol of “Prussian feudalism.”

On October 1, the constitution adopted already in 1948 by the elected city assembly for the entire city goes into force. The city’s division, however, restricts the constitution’s practical validity to the three western sectors (the federal state of Berlin). East Berlin remains without a constitution until 1990.

1951

On January 18, the House of Representatives, which meets at the Schöneberg Town Hall, elects Ernst Reuter (SPD) the first Governing Mayor of Berlin. He remains in office until his death on 29 September 1953.

In East Berlin, the 3rd World Festival of Youth and Students takes place in August with 26,000 people from 104 countries in attendance. The sector’s borders are still open, and West Berlin, too, is visited by many foreign visitors and members of the Free German Youth (FDJ).

1952

A law (Gesetz über die Stellung Berlins im Finanzsystem des Bundes [Drittes Überleitungsgesetz]) passed on January 4 by the West German parliament gives West Berlin a legal claim to the financial assistance needed to ensure its survival.

In East Berlin, within the framework of the “national building program for Berlin,” construction begins in February to transform Stalinallee (called Karl-Marx-Allee as of 1961) into “Germany’s first socialist street.” The apartment houses built in the “gingerbread style” of the Soviet Stalinist era are today classified as historical monuments and are still very much in demand as housing.

The English Garden is opened on March 29 by the British foreign minister Anthony Eden in West Berlin’s Tiergarten park.

1953

On June 16, construction workers on East Berlin’s Stalinallee go on strike in protest against a state-mandated rise in work quotas. On June 17, the strike becomes an uprising that spreads to many other cities in the GDR and culminates in the demand that the SED regime be removed and free elections held in all of Germany. The uprising is brutally crushed by Soviet troops, and several hundred people are killed, more than a thousand injured, and many arrested. On August 4, the West German parliament declares June 17 a national day of remembrance, the “day of German unity.”

The refugee transit camp Marienfelde opens on August 22 in West Berlin to take in people fleeing the GDR.

1954

The “Berliner Ensemble” headed by Bertolt Brecht moves into a theater of its own, the Theater am Schiffbauerdamm in East Berlin’s Mitte borough.

1955

East Berlin’s Tierpark zoo opens at Schlosspark Friedrichsfelde on July 2.

The airline “Deutsche Lufthansa der DDR” (known as Interflug after 1959) puts the Schönefeld airport, taken over from the Soviet occupying power, into operation on September 16 as the GDR’s first commercial airport.

The Berlin Town Hall, rebuilt after the war, is officially handed over to East Berlin’s lord mayor, Friedrich Ebert, on November 30.

1956

Construction of the city expressway begins in West Berlin.

1957

The new construction in the city center in the 1950s culminates with the International Building Exhibition (Interbau) held in West Berlin. Core pieces of the exhibition are the Hansaviertel area, designed by many different international architects and in conscious opposition to the socialist housing erected along Stalinallee, and the Congress Hall (Kongresshalle) in the Tiergarten park.

The hundred-thousandth apartment to be constructed in West Berlin with public funding since 1945 is officially handed over on June 21.

The restored New Guardhouse (Neue Wache), built in 1818 by Karl Friedrich Schinkel on the avenue Unter den Linden in East Berlin, is reopened in August. From 1960 to 1990 it serves as a GDR “Memorial for the Victims of Fascism and Militarism.” Since 1993 it has been a “central memorial” of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Willy Brandt (SPD) is elected Governing Mayor of Berlin on October 3 in West Berlin. He holds this office until December 1966.

1958

In September, in one of the few joint projects to take place during the Cold War, the restoration of Brandenburg Gate, badly damaged during the war, is concluded when the quadriga (restored in West Berlin) is returned to the top of this historic monument (located in East Berlin).

On November 27, Soviet party and government head Nikita Khrushchev responds to the constant stream of refugees leaving the GDR for the West via Berlin by issuing an ultimatum to the three western Allies, demanding that they withdraw from Berlin and that West Berlin be turned into a “demilitarized free city.” Khrushchev’s ultimatum is the first grave threat to West Berlin’s survival since the blockade of 1948/1949.

1959

On June 18, Germany’s president Theodor Heuss (FDP), takes Bellevue Palace (Schloss Bellevue), located in the Tiergarten park, as his official seat in Berlin.

1960

In response to rising coercive measures in the GDR (forced collectivization), almost 200,000 GDR residents flee to West Berlin over the course of the year via the sector’s open borders.

1961

On July 25, U.S. president John F. Kennedy announces that the western protecting powers have three essential interests in Berlin: 1. the right of the Allies to be in Berlin, 2. their right of access to Berlin, and 3. the survival and right of self-determination of West Berlin.

In July, 30,415 GDR residents leave the country for West Berlin, the highest number in a month since 1953.

On August 13, the GDR starts construction on a wall that runs along the sector border and seals the two parts of the city off from one another.

On August 19, U.S. vice-president Lyndon B. Johnson and retired general Lucius D. Clay arrive in Berlin to take a look at the GDR barricade. Germany’s chancellor, Konrad Adenauer (CDU), visits the city on August 22.

On August 25, the first Internationale Funkausstellung, an electronics exhibition, to be held since 1939 opens at the trade fair grounds around the radio tower.

On December 17, the new building of the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church (Gedächtniskirche), designed by Egon Eiermann, is consecrated in Charlottenburg by Bishop Otto Dibelius.

1962

Large housing estates are built in West Berlin on the city outskirts until the end of the 1970s (construction on Gropiusstadt begins in 1962 and on Märkisches Viertel and Falkenhagener Feld in 1963)

The city center of East Berlin, as the capital of the GDR, is outfitted with large representative buildings around Alexanderplatz and Marx-Engels-Platz. Alexanderplatz is given the “Haus des Lehrers” (House of the Teacher) and the Kongresshalle (Congress Hall) in 1964, the “Haus der Elektroindustrie” (House of the Electronics Industry) in 1969, the department store Centrum-Warenhaus (today’s “Kaufhof”) and the hotel “Stadt Berlin” (today’s “Park Inn”) in 1970, and the “Haus des Reisens” (House of Travel) in 1971, while the Staatsratsgebäude, a government building (today’s European School of Management and Technology), is completed at Marx-Engels-Platz in 1964, the foreign office in 1967 (torn down in 1995), and the television tower in 1969. Apartment houses are also built during these years on Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse and at the Rathauspassagen (1968-1972), as well as on Karl-Marx-Allee as far as Strausberger Platz (1959-1965).

1963

On January 17, Soviet party and government head Nikita Khrushchev visits East Berlin.

U.S. president John F. Kennedy visits the city on June 26 and in his famous speech [Film] in front of the Schöneberg Town Hall assures the people of Berlin of his solidarity with them.

On December 17, the signing of the first entry permit agreement allows West Berliners to visit relatives in the eastern part of the city and is valid for the period from 19 December 1963 to 5 January 1964; 1.2 million West Berliners take advantage of this opportunity to visit family. Further agreements follow in 1964,1965, and 1966.

1965

On April 7, the German Bundestag holds a plenary session in Berlin’s Congress Hall (Kongresshalle). In protest against this “unlawful” involvement of West Berlin in the political system of the Federal Republic of Germany, the GDR issues an order forbidding Bundestag members to use its transit routes to Berlin. Soviet military aircraft disrupt the session with low flights over the Congress Hall and the sonic boom of supersonic planes.

The Europa Center opens on May 2 at Breitscheidplatz in Charlottenburg.

1966

Willy Brandt resigns as governing mayor on December 1 and assumes the office of deputy chancellor and foreign minister under Chancellor Kurt-Georg Kiesinger.

1967

The GDR’s first industrial collective, VEB Kabelwerke Oberspree (KWO), is established on January 1 in the East Berlin industrial area Oberschöneweide.

On June 2, the Berlin student Benno Ohnesorg is shot by a policeman during a student protest against the visit of the Shah of Persia to West Berlin (a commemorative relief can be seen today at the Deutsche Oper opera house). His death and the clashes that followed focus public attention on the student movement in Berlin. With their opposition to the universities’ outdated traditions and hierarchies, the paralysis of the grand coalition government, and the injustice of a global order based on oppressing and exploiting the Third World, this movement becomes the nucleus of the later “ausserparlamentarische Opposition” (APO), a left-wing movement dedicated to promoting opposition to the government from outside the parliament.

When Line 55 between Charlottenburg and Spandau is shut down on October 2, the streetcar era comes to an end (for the time being) in West Berlin. Streetcars remain in service in East Berlin until reunification: afterwards, some lines are extended back into western boroughs.

1968

The attempt to assassinate the Berlin student leader Rudi Dutschke on April 11 on the avenue Kurfürstendamm marks another dramatic climax in the conflicts surrounding the student movement in Berlin.

On the 24th anniversary of the failed attempt on 20 July 1944 to overthrow Adolf Hitler, the Stauffenbergstrasse Memorial and Educational Center (today the German Resistance Memorial Center) is opened at the Bendlerblock on July 20.

The New National Gallery (Neue Nationalgalerie), designed by Mies van der Rohe, opens at the Kulturforum in West Berlin.

1969

U.S. president Richard Nixon visits West Berlin on February 27.

The world clock at Alexanderplatz goes into operation on October 2.

Willy Brandt (SPD) is elected chancellor on October 21 and indicates his interest in pursuing negotiations between the two German states.

On December 16, the western Allies propose talks to the Soviet Union aimed at solving problems related to Berlin.

1970

Construction on 11- to 25-story apartment houses on Leipziger Strasse in East Berlin’s Mitte borough begins in January.

Negotiations over Berlin between the four former Allies, the Second World War’s victorious powers, begin on March 26 in the building of the Allied Control Council in West Berlin.

On April 19, a 19-meter-high Lenin monument is unveiled at Leninplatz (known as Platz der Vereinten Nationen starting in 1992) in the East Berlin borough of Friedrichshain. It is dismantled in 1991.

1971

Ten direct telephones lines are reconnected between West and East Berlin on January 31 for the first time since 1952.

Negotiations on “issues of interest to both sides” begin on June 3 between the Berlin Senate and the GDR government.

On September 3, the ambassadors of the four victorious powers sign the Quadripartite Agreement on Berlin in the building of the Allied Control Council in West Berlin. It clarifies the ties between Berlin and the Federal Republic of Germany, thereby facilitating a number of practical arrangements benefiting the people of the city. It goes into force on 3 June 1972, along with subsequent agreements on transit traffic and travel and visitor possibilities.

More information

The construction of the Berlin Wall

The construction of the Berlin Wall

As late as 15 June 1961, GDR head of state Walter Ulbricht claimed that no one had any intention of building a wall...  more »

The Berlin Wall

The Berlin Wall

Facts and figures  more »

Contact

The Governing Mayor of Berlin
- Senate Chancellery -

Jüdenstr. 1
10178 Berlin

Language selection

Direkt zum Inhalt der Seite springen

Berlin nach 1945 – Besetzung, Spaltung, Mauerbau und Kalter Krieg

1945

Die Berliner Garnison kapituliert am 2. Mai, sechs Tage vor dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges in Europa. Weite Teile der Stadt sind zerstört [Film].
Der am 8. Mai 1945 beendete Zweite Weltkrieg hat in weiten Teilen Berlins eine Trümmerlandschaft hinterlassen: 600.000 zerstörte Wohnungen und von vormals 4,3 Millionen Einwohnern leben noch 2,8 Millionen in der Stadt. Entsprechend der Vereinbarung der Alliierten wurde die Stadt in vier Sektoren aufgeteilt und gemeinsam von den Besatzungsmächten, den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika, Großbritannien, Frankreich und der Sowjetunion verwaltet.

1946-49

Zunehmende Interessengegensätze der Siegermächte zur Nachkriegsordnung Europas und insbesondere Deutschlands führen zum Scheitern der gemeinsamen Verwaltung der Stadt durch die Alliierten. Berlin entwickelt sich zum Brennpunkt des „Kalten Krieges“.

1946

Die im April unter Druck der Sowjetischen Militärverwaltung und der KPD in der Ostzone und Ost- Berlin durchgesetzte Vereinigung von KPD und SPD zur Sozialistischen Einheitspartei Deutschlands (SED) führt zu heftigen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen den Alliierten sowie den lokalen Parteiorganisationen.

Am 20. Oktober wird mit einer Wahlbeteiligung von 92,3 Prozent Berlins erste Stadtverordnetenversammlung nach dem Kriege gewählt. Die SPD erhält 48,7 Prozent der Stimmen, die CDU 22,2, die SED 19,8 und die LDP 9,3 Prozent.

1948

Der unter anderem durch Streitigkeiten um die Währungsreform ausgelösten Blockade [Film] der Westsektoren von Juni 1948 bis Mai 1949 durch die Sowjetunion begegnen die westlichen Alliierten mit der Luftbrücke, der bis dahin beispiellosen Versorgung einer ganzen Stadt aus der Luft. Aus den westlichen Siegermächten werden Schutzmächte und Freunde.
Mit der Blockade endet auch die gemeinsame Verwaltung Berlins. Wegen zunehmender Störungen durch Parteigänger der SED verlegt die Stadtverordnetenversammlung ihre Tagungen am 6. September in den Westteil der Stadt. In Ost-Berlin bildet sich daraufhin am 30. November ein eigener, von der SED dominierter Magistrat unter Oberbürgermeister Friedrich Ebert. Damit ist die Spaltung der Stadtverwaltung vollzogen.

Am 9. September appelliert Ernst Reuter in seiner Rede vor der Ruine des Reichtages vor mehr als 300.000 Berlinern an die „Völker der Welt“, „diese Stadt und dieses Volk“ nicht preiszugeben.

Am 4. Dezember wird in West-Berlin als Gegengründung zur im Ostteil gelegenen traditionellen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität (ab 1949 Humboldt-Universität) die „Freie Universität Berlin“ gegründet.

1949

Die gewählte Stadtverordnetenversammlung und der Oberbürgermeister nehmen provisorisch Quartier als Untermieter im Rathaus des West-Berliner Bezirks Schöneberg – ein Provisorium, das mehr als 40 Jahre andauern wird.

Wegen der Belastungen durch die Blockade kommt es unter dem Oberbegriff "Notopfer Berlin" zu einem ersten umfassenden finanziellen Hilfsprogramm für die isolierte Stadt. Sichtbarer Ausdruck ist die am 1. April in den Westzonen eingeführte 2-Pfennig-Briefmarke "Notopfer Berlin“. Sie gilt bis 1956.

Am 12. Mai hebt die Sowjetunion die Blockade der Berliner West-Sektoren auf. Als Folge stoppen die Westalliierten ihre gegen die sowjetische Besatzungszone verhängten Wirtschaftssanktionen. Der Zugang nach West-Berlin durch die sowjetische Besatzungszone ist jedoch weiterhin nicht ohne weiteres möglich. Bis zur Wiedervereinigung 1990 dürfen nur die von der östlichen Seite festgelegten Transitstrecken und die von den Alliierten schon zu Kriegszeiten vereinbarten Luftkorridore benutzt werden.

Am 23. Mai 1949 erfolgt in den Westzonen Deutschlands die Gründung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Für Berlin bleibt der alliierte Sonderstatus (bis zur Wiedervereinigung am 3. Oktober 1990) erhalten. Am 10. Mai 1949 bestimmt der Parlamentarische Rat Bonn ersatzweise zur Hauptstadt des neuen Staates.

Mit der Staatsgründung der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik in der Ostzone am 7. Oktober 1949 wird Ost-Berlin zur „Hauptstadt der DDR“. In der Folge werden beide Stadthälften eng in die jeweiligen Gesellschaftssysteme ihrer Führungsmächte eingebunden.

1950

Im September beginnt in Ost-Berlin die Sprengung des Berliner Stadtschlosses. Ein Symbol des „preußischen Feudalismus“ soll getilgt werden.

Am 1. Oktober tritt die bereits 1948 von der gewählten Stadtverordnetenversammlung für die ganze Stadt verabschiedete Verfassung von Berlin in Kraft. Ihre tatsächliche Geltung ist durch die Spaltung der Stadt aber auf die drei Westsektoren (Land Berlin) beschränkt. Ost-Berlin bleibt bis 1990 ohne Verfassung.

1951

Am 18. Januar wählt das im Rathaus Schöneberg tagende Abgeordnetenhaus Ernst Reuter (SPD) zum ersten Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin. Er amtiert bis zu seinem Tod am 29. September 1953.

Im August finden in Ost-Berlin die III. Weltfestspiele der Jugend und Studenten mit 26.000 Teilnehmern aus 104 Ländern statt. Über die noch offene Sektorengrenze ist auch West-Berlin Zielpunkt vieler ausländischer Besucher und FDJ-Mitglieder.

1952

Mit dem „Gesetz über die Stellung Berlins im Finanzsystem des Bundes“ (Drittes Überleitungsgesetz) vom 4. Januar erhält West-Berlin einen Rechtsanspruch auf finanzielle Hilfe des Bundes zur Erhaltung seiner Lebensfähigkeit.

Im Februar beginnt in Ost-Berlin im Rahmen des „Nationalen Aufbauprogramms Berlin“ der Ausbau der Stalinallee (ab 1961 Karl-Marx-Allee) zur „ersten sozialistischen Straße Deutschlands“. Die im sowjetischen Zuckerbäckerstil der Stalinzeit errichteten Wohnhäuser stehen heute unter Denkmalschutz und sind nach wie vor begehrte Wohnquartiere.

Am 29. März wird in West-Berlin im Großen Tiergarten durch den britischen Außenminister Anthony Eden der englische Garten eröffnet.

1953

Am 16. Juni treten die Bauarbeiter an der Ost-Berliner Stalinallee gegen eine staatlich verordnete Normenerhöhung in Streik. Daraus entwickelt am 17. Juni ein Volksaufstand, der auf zahlreiche andere Städte der DDR übergreift und in der Forderung nach Abschaffung des SED-Regimes und freien Wahlen in ganz Deutschland gipfelt. Der Aufstand wird von sowjetischen Truppen gewaltsam niedergeschlagen. Es kommt zu mehreren hundert Toten, über 1000 Verletzten und zahlreichen Verhaftungen. Am 4. August erklärt der Deutsche Bundestag den 17. Juni als nationalen Gedenktag zum „Tag der deutschen Einheit“.

Am 22. August wird in West-Berlin für DDR-Flüchtlinge das Notaufnahmelager Marienfelde eröffnet.

1954

Im März bezieht das „Berliner Ensemble“ unter Leitung von Bertolt Brecht sein eigenes Haus im Theater am Schiffbauerdamm im Ost-Berliner Bezirk Mitte.

1955

Am 2. Juli wird der Ost-Berliner Tierpark im Schlosspark Friedrichsfelde eröffnet.

Am 16. September nimmt die „Deutsche Lufthansa der DDR“ (ab 1959 „Interflug“) den von der sowjetischen Besatzungsmacht übernommen Flughafen Schönefeld als ersten Verkehrsflughafen der DDR in Betrieb.

Am 30. November wird das nach Kriegszerstörungen wieder aufgebaute (Ost-) Berliner Rathaus an Oberbürgermeister Friedrich Ebert übergeben.

1956

In West-Berlin beginnt der Bau der Stadtautobahn.

1957

Als Höhepunkt des innerstädtischen Neuaufbaus in den 50er Jahren findet in West-Berlin die Internationale Bauausstellung (Interbau) statt. Kernstücke sind das bewusst als Gegenbeispiel zu den sozialistischen Wohnungsbauten an der Stalinallee unter Beteiligung zahlreicher internationaler Architekten errichtete Hansaviertel und die Kongresshalle im Großen Tiergarten.

Am 21. Juni wird in West-Berlin die 100.000ste Wohnung übergeben, die seit 1945 mit öffentlichen Mitteln errichtet worden ist.

Im August wird in Ost-Berlin die restaurierte, 1818 von Karl-Friedrich Schinkel erbaute „Neue Wache“ an der Straße „Unter den Linden“ wieder eröffnet. Von 1960 bis 1990 dient sie der DDR als „Mahnmal für die Opfer des Faschismus und Militarismus“. Seit 1993 ist sie „Zentrale Gedenkstätte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland“.

Am 3. Oktober wird Willy Brandt (SPD) in West-Berlin zum Regierenden Bürgermeister Berlins gewählt. Er amtiert bis Dezember 1966.

1958

Im September wird in einer der wenigen „Gemeinschaftsaktionen“ zu Zeiten des Kalten Krieges mit der Wiederaufstellung der (in West-Berlin neu gegossenen) Quadriga auf dem (in Ost-Berlin stehenden) Brandenburger Tor die Wiederherstellung dieses im Krieg stark zerstörten Berliner Baudenkmals abgeschlossen.

Am 27. November fordert der sowjetische Partei- und Regierungschef Nikita Chruschtschow angesichts des anhaltenden Flüchtlingsstroms aus der DDR über Berlin in den Westen die drei Westalliierten in einer Note ultimativ zum Verlassen Berlins auf und verlangt die Umwandlung West-Berlins in eine „entmilitarisierte freie Stadt“. Nach der Blockade 1948/49 wird die Lebensfähigkeit West-Berlins durch das sogenannte „Chruschtschow-Ultimatum“ zum zweiten Mal ernsthaft bedroht.

1959

Am 18. Juni übernimmt Bundespräsident Theodor Heuss (FDP) offiziell das im Großen Tiergarten gelegene Schloss Bellevue als seinen Berliner Amtssitz.

1960

Unter dem Druck zunehmender Zwangsmaßnahmen in der DDR (Zwangskollektivierung) flüchten im Laufe des Jahres nahezu 200.000 DDR-Bewohner über die offene Sektorengrenze nach West-Berlin.

1961

Der DDR-Staatsratsvorsitzende, Walter Ulbricht, erklärt am 15. Juni „niemand hat die Absicht eine Mauer zu errichten“ [Film 0,81 MB].
Am 25. Juli verkündet US-Präsident John F. Kennedy die lebenswichtigen Interessen der westlichen Schutzmächte an Berlin, die sog. „Three Essantials“: 1. Recht der Alliierten auf Anwesenheit in Berlin, 2. ihr Recht auf freien Zugang und 3. die Erhaltung der Lebensfähigkeit und des Rechts auf Selbstbestimmung für West-Berlin.

Im Juli flüchten 30.415 DDR-Bewohner nach West-Berlin. Das ist die höchste monatliche Zahl seit 1953.

Am 13. August beginnt die DDR mit dem Bau einer Mauer [Film 5,80 MB] entlang der Sektorengrenze und riegelt beide Teile der Stadt voneinander ab.

Am 19. August treffen US-Vizepräsident Lyndon B. Johnson und General a.D. Lucius D. Clay in Berlin ein, um sich über die Sperrmaßnahmen der DDR zu informieren. Am 22. August besucht Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer (CDU) die Stadt.

Am 25. August wird auf dem Messegelände am Funkturm die erste Internationale Funkausstellung seit 1939 eröffnet.

Am 17. Dezember wird der Neubau der Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtniskirche in Charlottenburg (Egon Eiermann) durch Bischof Otto Dibelius geweiht.

1962

Bis Ende der siebziger Jahre werden in West-Berlin große Stadtrandsiedlungen errichtet (Gropiusstadt 1962, Märkisches Viertel und Falkenhagener Feld 1963, jeweils Baubeginn).

In Ost-Berlin wird das Stadtzentrum der „Hauptstadt der DDR“ um Alexanderplatz und Marx-Engels-Platz repräsentativ ausgebaut: am Alexanderplatz „Haus des Lehrers“ und Kongresshalle 1964, „Haus der Elektroindustrie“ 1969, Centrum-Warenhaus (heute „Kaufhof“) und Hotel "Stadt Berlin" (heute „Park Inn“) 1970 und „Haus des Reisens“ 1971; am Marx-Engels-Platz Staatsratsgebäude 1964 (heute European School of Management and Technology), Außenministerium 1967 (1995 abgerissen) und Fernsehturm 1969 (jeweils Fertigstellung). Ebenso entstehen in dieser Zeit die Wohnbebauung an der Karl-Liebknecht-Straße und den Rathauspassagen (1968-1972) sowie an der Karl-Marx-Allee bis Strausberger Platz (1959-1965).

1963

Am 17. Januar besucht der sowjetische Partei- und Staatschef Nikita Chruschtschow Ost-Berlin.

US-Präsident Kennedy besucht am 26. Juni die Stadt und versichert in seiner berühmten Rede vor dem Rathaus Schöneberg den Berlinern seine Solidarität.

Am 17. Dezember wird das erste Passierscheinabkommen über die Regelung des Besuchs West-Berliner Bürger bei Verwandten im Ostteil der Stadt unterzeichnet. Es gilt für die Zeit vom 19. Dezember 1963 bis zum 5. Januar 1964. 1,2 Mio. West-Berliner nutzen die Möglichkeit eines Verwandtenbesuchs im Ostteil der Stadt. Weitere Abkommen folgen 1964,1965 und 1966.

1965

Am 7. April hält der Deutsche Bundestag eine Plenarsitzung in der Berliner Kongresshalle ab. Aus Protest gegen diese „widerrechtliche“ Einbeziehung West-Berlins in das politische System der Bundesrepublik Deutschland erlässt die DDR ein Durchfahrtsverbot für Bundestagsabgeordnete auf den Transitstrecken. Sowjetische Militärmaschinen stören die Sitzung durch Tief- und Überschallflüge über dem Tagungsort.

Am 2. Mai wird am Breitscheidplatz in Charlottenburg das Europa-Center eröffnet.

1966

Am 1. Dezember tritt Willy Brandt als Regierender Bürgermeister zurück und übernimmt das Amt des Vizekanzlers und Außenministers unter Bundeskanzler Kurt-Georg-Kiesinger.

1967

Am 1. Januar wird im Ost-Berliner Industriegebiet Oberschöneweide das erste Industriekombinat der DDR gebildet, das Kombinat VEB Kabelwerke Oberspree (KWO).

Am 2. Juni wird bei einer studentischen Protestdemonstration gegen den Besuch des Schahs von Persien in West-Berlin der Berliner Student Benno Ohnesorg durch einen Polizisten erschossen (heute Gedenkrelief neben der Deutschen Oper). Sein Tod und die folgenden Auseinandersetzungen rücken die Berliner Studentenbewegung in den Blickpunkt der allgemeinen Öffentlichkeit. Gegen den universitären „Muff von tausend Jahren“, die Erstarrungen der Großen Koalition und die Ungerechtigkeit einer auf Ausbeutung und Unterdrückung der Dritten Welt beruhenden Weltordnung wird sie zur Keimzelle der späteren „außerparlamentarischen Opposition“ (APO).

Mit der Einstellung der Linie 55 zwischen Charlottenburg und Spandau endet in West-Berlin am 2. Oktober (vorerst) das Zeitalter der Straßenbahnen. In Ost-Berlin wird ihr Verkehr bis zur Vereinigung aufrecht erhalten und danach einige Linien wieder in die westlichen Bezirke verlängert.

1968

Das Attentat auf den Berliner Studentenführer Rudi Dutschke am 11. April auf dem Kurfürstendamm markiert einen weiteren dramatischen Höhepunkt der Auseinandersetzungen um die Berliner Studentenbewegung.

Zum 24. Jahrestag des gescheiterten Umsturzversuchs gegen Adolf Hitler vom 20. Juli 1944 wird am 20. Juli im Bendlerblock die „Gedenk- und Bildungsstätte Stauffenbergstraße“ eröffnet (heute Gedenkstätte Deutscher Widerstand).

Am Kulturforum in West-Berlin wird die von Mies van der Rohe errichte Neue Nationalgalerie eröffnet.

1969

Am 27. Februar besucht US-Präsident Richard Nixon West-Berlin.

Am 2. Oktober geht die Weltzeituhr auf dem Alexanderplatz in Betrieb.

Am 21. Oktober wird Willy Brandt (SPD) zum Bundeskanzler gewählt. In seiner Regierungserklärung erklärt er seine Bereitschaft zu Verhandlungen zwischen beiden deutschen Staaten.

Am 16. Dezember schlagen die Westmächte der UdSSR Gespräche zur Lösung der Probleme um Berlin vor.

1970

Im Januar beginnt die Bebauung der Leipziger Straße im Ost-Berliner Bezirk Mitte mit 11- bis 25-stöckigen Wohnhäusern.

Am 26. März beginnen im Gebäude des Alliierten Kontrollrates in West-Berlin die Verhandlungen der vier ehemals alliierten Siegermächte des II. Weltkrieges über Berlin.

Am 19. April wird am Leninplatz im Ost-Berliner Bezirk Friedrichshain (ab 1992 Platz der Vereinten Nationen) das 19 Meter hohe Lenindenkmal enthüllt. Es wird 1991 abgetragen.

1971

Am 31. Januar werden erstmals seit 1952 wieder zehn direkte Telefonleitungen zwischen West- und Ost-Berlin geschaltet.

Am 3. Juni beginnen Verhandlungen zwischen dem Berliner Senat und der DDR-Regierung über "beiderseits interessierende Fragen".

Am 3. September unterzeichnen die Botschafter der vier Siegermächte im Gebäude des Alliierten Kontrollrates in West-Berlin das Vier-Mächte-Abkommen zu Berlin. Es klärt die Bindungen zwischen Berlin und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und ermöglicht in der Folge eine Vielzahl von praktischen Regelungen zum Nutzen der Menschen. Mit seinen Folgeabkommen zum Transitverkehr sowie den Reise- und Besuchsmöglichkeiten tritt es am 3. Juni 1972 in Kraft.

Weitere Informationen

Bau der Berliner Mauer

Bau der Berliner Mauer

Noch am 15. Juni 1961 erklärte der DDR-Staatsratsvorsitzende Walter Ulbricht, niemand habe die Absicht eine Mauer zu errichten ...  mehr »

Die Berliner Mauer

Die Berliner Mauer

Fakten und Zahlen  mehr »